8 October 2016
I made a trip to TUV SUD PSB at Science Park 1. The purpose of the trip was to check out the place there to see the kind of photos I could take for my photography final project.
My project topic is Environmental Monitor and I was able to get the help of my cousin and his supervisor to take the photos for my project. Today I explored many different laboratories and learnt about the equipments used around the laboratory. Science and experiments and labs have always been something special to me, hence to actually visit a lab and learn from it is a precious opportunity.
Things I learnt: Asbestos was commonly used in many everyday products including homes, school and buildings due to it’s heat resistant property and fibre strength. However  when the fibres of Abestos are inhaled, they can cause lung cancer. Hence air testing is an important process in ensuring the health and safety of the people.

I learnt that electronic air pumps are not always accurate in reading and need to be verified and calibrated manually.

The concentration of acids and hydroxides used for testing of samples need to be low so that they do not alter the compounds found in the samples.

The process of air testing:
Travelling to the site, setting up the equipment.
The equipment consist of a portable machine with a hole that fits an agar plate..? It spins for a minute to collect a specific volume of air.
The agar plate is sent to the microbiology lab where the petri dish is left in an incubator for 3 days to allow it to reproduce.

The agar plate is examined under a magnifying glass and microscope. By examining it under a magnifying glass, we are able to tell how many bacterial colonies can be found in (1L) of air. By examining it under a microscope, we can tell the type of bacteria in the air.

I had a lot of fun! Quite excited to return back again and join their team to collect actual air samples. Meanwhile I need to think of a proper flow to my project’s story and edit the photos I took today.

